Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Bitmessage client for Android - A rough design  (Read 25348 times)

JonathanCoe

• View Profile
Bitmessage client for Android - A rough design
« on: May 19, 2013, 11:21:26 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a computer science student in the UK, and my summer university project is developing an Android client for Bitmessage. The project was approved a few weeks ago, and now I'm beginning work on it in earnest. The project specification can be found on my supervisor's homepage, here: http://www-users.cs.york.ac.uk/~dkolovos/research/student-projects/2013/9

I've spent the last couple of weeks sketching out a rough design for how I think a smartphone client for Bitmessage might work, and now I'm looking for some feedback from the community. My main concern is to find if there are any major flaws in the proposed design before I move on to prototyping.

The attached document gives a broad overview of the design I'm proposing.  It's still very rough at this stage, so there are bound to be lots of mistakes, omissions, and other problems. One part of the design requires a (small) change the protocol, so I expect a lot of debate about that in particular. I'm very happy to discuss all aspects of the design.

I've asked my supervisor and he has no problem with me posting this design to the community forum for feedback. We've agreed that it is the fastest way to ensure that the overall design is suitable. I will record and acknowledge any feedback I receive in my final report. Furthermore I won't accept any assistance beyond feedback for the proposed design (i.e. no volunteered code or other more detailed assistance). Therefore there should be no concern that taking feedback will damage the academic integrity of the project.